Historic Preservation Fund Grant

Applications accepted through April 1, 2019.

The National Park Service is now accepting applications for $5 million in grants to support the preservation of historic buildings in rural communities across the country that are listed in or eligible for inclusion in the National Register of Historic Places through the Historic Revitalization Sub grant Program (HRSP).

"Historic preservation projects have consistently proven to spur economic growth,” National Park Service Deputy Director P. Daniel Smith said. “The goal of this new competitive sub grant program is to support the rehabilitation of historic properties in our nation’s rural communities, shine a light on their unique local history, and foster economic development.”

The HRSP is funded through the Historic Preservation Fund, which is supported by revenue from Federal oil leases on the Outer Continental Shelf, providing assistance for a broad range of preservation projects without expending tax dollars. State and Tribal Historic Preservation Offices, Certified Local Governments, and non-profits may apply to the NPS for funding to support a subgrant program, that will in turn fund multiple physical preservation projects in their rural jurisdictions.

Applications for funding are now being accepted in Grants.gov through April 1, 2019 (11:59 p.m. EST). Applicants must define a sub grant program that covers areas defined as rural by the U.S. Census (less than 50,000) and preserves multiple National Register listed or eligible properties in support of economic development. Applicants must also demonstrate that they are capable of managing a federally funded sub grant program.

More information about the HRSP grants, including application materials, is available on the program website: http://go.nps.gov/revitalization. To confirm rural eligibility: https://www.census.gov/quickfacts/.

Who May Apply

•Nonprofit, tax-exempt US organizations, with or without 501(c)(3) designation

•Tribal Historic Preservation Offices

•State Historic Preservation Offices

•Certified Local Governments (list provided at go.nps.gov/clg)

Eligible Subgrant Recipients

•Properties listed in or determined eligible for the National Register of Historic Places

•Properties located in areas defined as rural by the US Bureau of the Census (less than 50,000) (more information available at