Rehabilitation of the Missildines, Bank and Jackson Buildings
Updated: Feb 7, 2022
2017 Best Historic Rehabilitation Project
The Missildines, Bank and Jackson buildings, located at 13-17 South Trade Street, were built in the 1910's and 1920's at the geographic and cultural center of Tryon, NC. Located across the street from the train depot, the three buildings served locals and visitors as the home for a pharmacy, weavers, a grocery, hardware stores and other commercial uses. The buildings sat vacant for more than eight years until Gayle and Scott Lane purchased them in 2014.
The project was organized as an 18,000 sq. ft. condominium with three residential units and five commercial units. The second-floor residential units have an average of 2,000 sq, ft. each, a restaurant spans the basement of the three buildings and three retail spaces are fully rented on the first floor. Each building has a unique color scheme, window configuration, awning design, doors and storefront, all determined through historic photographic documentation. Original doorways, skylights, tin and wood ceilings, wood floors and plaster walls were all preserved. All new plumbing and mechanical systems were installed throughout the project with the least intrusion into the historic structures.
The $2 million project triggered recognition of a National Historic Register district and received historic tax credits. It became a model for future private preservation efforts and helped provide a catalyst for Tryon's recent economic and social revival, serving as a focal point for tourism and gathering places. The project leveraged an additional nine retail businesses that opened in downtown since the completion of the project.